Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Quentin Berg Professor of Mechanics
Director: The SMART Centre
Singapore MIT Alliance for Research and Technology

Rohan Abeyaratne is the Quentin Berg Professor of Mechanical Engineering at MIT and the Director of the Singapore-MIT Alliance for Research and Technology (SMART). Prior to this, Professor Abeyaratne was the Head of the Department of Mechanical Engineering at MIT from 2001-2008 and its Associate Department Head from 1996-2001. He has held visiting faculty positions at the California Institute of Technology, University of Cambridge, University of Minnesota, National University of Singapore and the Nanyang Technological University. Professor Abeyaratne is a Fellow of ASME and a Fellow of the American Academy of Mechanics. He is the recipient of ASME’s 2010 Daniel Drucker Medal conferred in recognition of distinguished contributions in research and education to the field of Mechanical Engineering. He has served on the editorial boards of four international journals, is a member of the scientific advisory boards of several universities. Furthermore, he served a two-year term as President of the American Academy of Mechanics. Professor Abeyaratne’s research interest is in the field of theoretical mechanics where he is particularly known for his work on the dynamics of phase transitions. He has published extensively, including two books, the "Evolution of Phase Transitions” and "The Mechanics of Elastic Solids: Volume 1”. Professor Abeyaratne is the recipient of a MacVicar Fellowship, MIT’s highest award for education. Professor Abeyaratne received his B.Sc. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Ceylon (1975), and his M.Sc. (1976) as well as Ph.D (1979) degrees from the California Institute of Technology.



Presentation Day&Time: 23th October 2014, 09:00 - 09:45